Tourism generated 219,000 direct jobs and 400,000 indirect jobs before the pandemic.
- A.M. Costa Rica illustrative photo -

Published Friday, September 25, 2020

Tourists from the U.S. state of Ohio
and other countries authorized
to arrive in the country

By the A.M. Costa Rica staff

Citizens and residents of Mexico, Jamaica and the U.S. state of Ohio will be able to arrive in the country by air as of October 1, the Ministry of Tourism announced on Thursday.

"The decision is due to the opening in international tourism, gradual, sustained and with the controlled risk that we have been managing to reactivate the country's economy and boost the tourism sector," Gustavo Segura, Minister of Tourism said.

According to the ministry, Mexico is a good market, with excellent connectivity, which generates more than 97,000 visitors a year, making it the third-largest market of tourists to Costa Rica.

As for Jamaica, the ministry said that in 2019 there were reported 1,180 tourists from that country.

However, the Center for Systems Science and Engineering (CSSE) at Johns Hopkins University reported that Mexico is among the Latin American countries with the most infections and deaths due to covid-19. As of Thursday, Mexico has approximately 126.2 million inhabitants, of those, there are 710,049 cases and 74,949 deaths.

In the case of Jamaica, the Center experts reported 5,588 cases and 77 deaths, for a country of approximately 2.9 million inhabitants.

In the case of the U.S., a country of approximately 328.2 million inhabitants, were reported 7.1 million cases and 207,555 deaths.

As of today, citizens of 20 states and one district of the U.S. have been authorized to enter the country, as follows:

• Since September 1, residents of Connecticut, Maine, Maryland, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Vermont, Virginia and Washington District of Columbia can travel to Costa Rica.

• As of September 15, residents of Oregon, Wyoming, Arizona, New Mexico, Michigan, Rhode Island, Colorado, Washington (state), Massachusetts and Pennsylvania can enter the country.

• Beginning Oct. 1, residents of California and now Ohio have the green light to travel into Costa Rica.

According to the ministry, tourism generated 219,000 direct jobs and 400,000 indirect jobs before the pandemic. Reopening flights from the aforementioned states, especially from California, will increase employment in Guanacaste, as well as other nearby regions. The impact will also be positive for the entire country because it allows for the return of airlines from the U.S., the main tourism market for the country.

Since August 1, Costa Rica has maintained open-air borders with the 26 countries of the European Union (Schengen zone), United Kingdom, Japan; South Korea; Thailand, Singapore, China, Oceania, Australia, New Zealand, Canada, Uruguay, and certain states from the United States.

The 26 countries of the Schengen countries are: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland.

Commercial flights will be allowed to arrive at both airports, Juan Santamaría in Alajuela Province and Daniel Oduber in Guanacaste Province.

The Ministry of Health requires tourists traveling into Costa Rica to have the following:

• Fill out the electronic epidemiological online Health Pass at the following link of the ministry web

• Proof of an RT-PCR diagnostic test with a negative result; the sample must have been taken within 72 hours of travel to Costa Rica.

• Traveler's Medical Insurance can be purchased in their country of origin or Costa Rica through the Government Insurance Institute or approved private insurance companies located in Costa Rica.

• Passengers coming from the U.S. must show through their driver’s license or state identification (State ID) that they live in one of the authorized states. This requirement excludes children traveling with their families.

• In the case of residents, they must present the current immigration identification document for foreigners (DIMEX).

• Residents should present proof of payment of monthly Social Security payments. In case of non-compliance with this requirement, the resident can purchase any of the covid-19 travel insurance with a minimum coverage of 22 days. During that period, immigrant residents must update the delayed payments with Social Security.

According to the ministry, for residents who come from a non-authorized country, they will receive a quarantine health order issued by the Ministry of Health. Those traveling from one of the unauthorized states from the United States must follow the latter orders.

The quarantine health order does not apply in the case of residents who come from an authorized country or state of the United States who also bring a negative PCR test with them, the institute said.

In the case of tourists from authorized states, they may arrive in the country even if they stop at an unauthorized destination, as long as they do not leave the airport and as long as the flight starts in the state of residence, the ministry said.

For example, a New Jersey resident who boards at Newark Liberty International Airport (EWR) in New Jersey and makes a layover of fewer than 18 hours in Panama (a destination not yet authorized) will be able to enter the country.

In the case of U.S. citizens, more information on entry and exit requirements should be requested to the U.S. Embassy in Costa Rica.

Should authorities allow tourists from all U.S. states to enter the country?  
We would like to know your thoughts on this story. Send your comments to