The Tourism Institute clarifies that in the case of international insurance, the tourist must request a certification issued in
English or Spanish from their insurer, indicating three conditions. - Tourism Institute and Ministry of Foreign Affairs photos -


Published Wednesday, October 14, 2020

Clarification on the insurance
policy for tourists

By the A.M. Costa Rica staff

Since the gradual reopening of commercial flights on Aug. 1, the government has implemented a series of requirements for tourists.

International visitors have only two options to enter the country. They are allowed by air or sea for exclusive tourist purposes in accordance with National Decree No.42513-MGP-S.

One of the fundamental requirements for tourists is to have medical insurance, either bought in Costa Rica or in their home country.

The Tourism Institute clarifies that in the case of international insurance, the tourist must request a certification issued in English or Spanish from their insurer, indicating the following three conditions:

• The valid period of the effective policy during the travel to Costa Rica.

• Guarantee coverage for medical expenses in cases of covid-19 infection while in Costa Rica, for at least $50,000.

• A minimum coverage of $2,000 for accommodation expenses extended, in case of being infected with covid-19.

• The insurance document, where these requirements are met, must also be uploaded on the online Health Pass.

In case of not complying with these requirements, the passenger will not be able to enter the country, the institute said.

In addition, when arriving in the country, the tourist must comply with the sanitary guideline that is indicated at the airport, such as:

•  Wear a facemask at all times.

• Respect the social distance.

• Walk on the disinfected carpets.

• Allow for temperature taking.

• Follow any other instructions indicated by the officials at the airport.

Also, the Ministry of Health orders tourists traveling into Costa Rica to fulfill the following requirements:

 • Fill out the electronic epidemiological online Health Pass.

 • Proof of an RT-PCR diagnostic test with a negative result; the sample must have been taken within 72 hours of travel to Costa Rica.

 • Passengers coming from the U.S. must show through their driver’s license or state identification (State ID) that they live in one of the authorized states. This requirement excludes children traveling with their families. The requirement will not be necessary as of Nov. 1.

 • In the case of residents from any country returning to Costa Rica, they must present the current immigration identification document for foreigners, DIMEX.

 • Residents should present proof of payment of monthly Social Security payments. In case of non-compliance with this requirement, the resident can purchase any of the covid-19 travel insurance with a minimum coverage of 22 days. During that period, immigrant residents must update the delayed payments.

Commercial flights will be allowed to arrive at three international airports, Juan Santamaría in Alajuela Province, Tobias Bolaños in San José Province and Daniel Oduber in Guanacaste Province.

Since Aug.1, Costa Rica re-opened their skies to the European Union (Schengen zone), England, Japan; South Korea, Thailand, Singapore, Croatia, China, Bulgaria, Oceania, Australia, New Zealand, Canada, Uruguay, Cyprus, Romania, Vatican, Ireland, San Marino and Monaco.

The 26 countries of the Schengen countries are: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland.

Since Oct. 1, citizens and residents of Mexico, Jamaica can arrive in the country by air.

As of Oct. 15, tourists from Belize, Guatemala, El Salvador, Honduras, Nicaragua and Panama will be able to arrive in the country from either one of the three international airports. 

In the case of the U.S., since Sept. 1, residents of Connecticut, Maine, Maryland, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Vermont, Virginia and Washington District of Columbia can travel to Costa Rica.

Since September 15, residents of Oregon, Wyoming, Arizona, New Mexico, Michigan, Rhode Island, Colorado, Washington (state), Massachusetts and Pennsylvania can enter the country.

Since Oct. 1, residents of California and Ohio have had the green light to travel into Costa Rica.

Residents and citizens of Florida, Georgia and Texas will be able to enter the country, starting tomorrow Thursday, Oct. 15.

Beginning Nov. 1, U.S. citizens and residents of all 50 states will be able to enter Costa Rica.

It is recommended for tourists or foreign residents who return to the country to contact the Costa Rican Embassy to request more information about the requirements ordered by the authorities to return to the country.

The contact information of the Costa Rican Embassies worldwide can be found on the Ministry of Foreign Affairs website.

Should the government reopen commercial flights for all countries? We would like to know your thoughts on this story. Send your comments to